Team History

In 1901, the only baseball organization that had sustained success in the United States was the National League. Founded in 1876, one of its charter franchises was the Boston Red Stockings from the National Association of Professional Base Ball Players, or simply the National Association, which had won four of the league’s five championships. Other leagues, including the American Association and the Player’s League, had attempted to mirror the success but failed to break the monopoly held by the NL. Then Ban Johnson, the owner of a small but successful minor league system from the Midwest, decided to directly compete with the National League and turned his circuit into a major league unit. Originally, one of the eight charter franchises was supposed to be in Buffalo, where the minor league Bisons were already established, but league ownership at the last minute voted in favor of Boston over Buffalo in part to directly compete with its NL counterparts. The rest… is history.

Red Sox Legend - Curt Schilling

Years with Boston: 2004-2007
Position: Pitcher

Fun Fact: With his win in Game Two of the 2004 World Series over St. Louis, Schilling became the first pitcher to win a World Series game for three different ball clubs; he had also won a start for Philadelphia in 1993 and the Diamondbacks in 2001. ...more on Curt Schilling.

Other Red Sox legends: Jason Varitek, Tim Wakefield, Babe Ruth

This Week in Red Sox History

26 June 1962 - Red Sox pitcher Earl Wilson throws a no-hitter before a small crowd at Fenway Park and also helps his cause with a home run in a 2-0 win over the Angels.

27 June 1955 - In one of the worst sports tragedies, Red Sox first baseman Harry Agganis, just 25 years old, suddenly dies of a massive pulmonary embolism.

27 June 1986 - Roger Clemens raises his record to a perfect 14-0 with a 5-3 win over the Orioles in Baltimore.

27 June 2003 - Before the first out is recorded by the Marlins, the Boston scores ten runs en route to a 25-8 win over Florida. Johnny Damon collects three hits in the first inning to tie a major league record set by Gene Stephens of the Red Sox just over fifty years earlier.

28 June 1901 - With Boston trailing 5-2 in the eighth inning in Washington, Freddie Parent connects for Boston's first-ever grand slam off Bill Carrick to give the club a 6-5 victory.

28 June 1984 - Dwight Evans hits for the cycle, capped by a three-run home run in the 11th inning, as Boston walks off with a 9-6 win over Seattle at Fenway Park.

28 June 2006 - Former Red Sox ace Pedro Martinez gives up eight runs on seven hits and two walks in three innings of work as Boston thumps the visiting New York Mets, 10-2. In contrast, Josh Beckett earns his tenth win, going 7-2/3 innings at allowing just two runs on five hits and one walk.

29 June 1950 - Boston and Philadelphia scored a combined 36 runs, a major league record for most runs scored by both teams in one game, as the Red Sox win 22-14.

29 June 2012 - Red Sox pitcher Aaron Cook needs just 81 pitches to toss a complete game shut out as the Red Sox blank the Mariners 5-0 in Seattle. Cook yields just two hits and faces only 28 batters.

30 June 1908 - Cy Young throws his third career no-hitter, his second with Boston, as the Red Sox beat the Yankees 8-0 in New York.

30 June 1950 - Red Sox outfielder Dom DiMaggio hits a home run in the same game as his brother, Yankees outfielder Joe, as the Boston wins 10-2 over New York in the second game of a doubleheader.

30 June 1994 - By beating New York 6-5 at Fenway Park, Boston ends a 12-game losing streak at home, the club's longest such streak in 68 years.

30 June 2013 - Pinch-runner Jonathan Diaz, who made his major league debut yesterday, races home with the winning run when Josh Thole boots Shane Victorino's routine ground ball to first in the bottom of the ninth as the Red Sox walk off with a 5-4 win over the Blue Jays at Fenway Park.

1 July 1903 - Cy Young wins 1-0 in his third consecutive start, the only time in major league history a pitcher has won three straight decisions by a score of 1-0. Young helps his own cause by driving home the winning run in the tenth on a double.

1 July 2009 - After relinquishing a nine-run lead to the Orioles the night before in an 11-10 loss, the Red Sox score four runs in the ninth to erase a 5-1 deficit and win 6-5 in 11 innings thanks to Julio Lugo's RBI single. Closer Jonathan Papelbon, who failed to set the franchise mark for career saves the previous night, pitches a perfect frame to give him 133 career saves, all with Boston.

2 July 2006 - With a 4-3 victory over the Marlins in Miami, the Red Sox finish interleague play at 16-2, tying the franchise with the 2002 Oakland Athletics and the 2006 Minnesota Twins for most victories in interleague history going back to its debut in 1997. In addition, Boston had record 12 straight wins over the National League between 16 and 29 June.